1. What is Hospice?

Hospice care is a compassionate approach to healthcare that focuses on enhancing the quality of life for terminally ill patients by providing pain relief, symptom management, and emotional support.

2. Who Pays for Hospice?

Hospice is fully covered for eligible patients under Medicare, most state Medicaid plans, and many private insurance plans. Here’s what you need to know:

  • There’s no out-of-pocket cost to patients/families under the Medicare/Medi-Cal hospice benefit.
  • We’ll assist you in checking your benefits coverage and ensure you understand any potential out-of-pocket costs.
  • Hospice services can be provided at home, in a nursing facility, or an assisted living facility.
3. Who is Eligible?

If you are wondering if you or your loved one qualifies for hospice care, here’s what you need to know:

  • Eligibility is based on a confirmed diagnosis of a terminal illness and a limited life expectancy certified by a physician.
  • Patients who elect to receive palliative (comfort) care rather than a cure are eligible for hospice services.
4. Who Provides Care?

These are the dedicated professionals who provide hospice care:

  • Primary Physician
  • Hospice Physician
  • Registered Nurses
  • Certified Home Health Aides
  • Therapists
  • Social Workers
  • Chaplains
  • Dietitians
  • Volunteers
  • Bereavement Counselors
5. What to Expect from Hospice Care?

Hospice care typically offers the following comprehensive support and services:

  • Pain management
  • Symptom management
  • Patient and family education
  • Psychosocial support
  • Emotional and spiritual support
  • Home medical equipment
  • Medications and supplies
  • Regular scheduled visits
  • 24/7 on-call nurse available
6. When is Hospice Needed?

Here are some signs that indicate hospice may be beneficial:

  • Frequent hospitalizations or trips to the emergency room
  • Progressive weight loss
  • An increase in falls
  • Rapid decline in health despite aggressive medical treatment
  • Uncontrolled pain, nausea, or vomiting
  • Restlessness or repetitive motions
  • Inability to perform daily tasks without assistance
  • Wounds unhealed, infections
  • Chest congestion and/or rapid breathing
  • Decrease in food and fluid intake
  • Loss of interest in activities/depression
7. What are the Different Levels of Services?

We offer various levels of care tailored to individual needs:

  • Routine Care: Scheduled visits by a care team at home or facilities.
  • Continuous Care: Intensive nursing support during crises, up to 24 hours/day.
  • Inpatient Units: Short-term care in hospitals for unmanageable symptoms.
  • Respite Care: Short breaks for caregivers, provided in certified facilities.
  • Palliative Care: Holistic support focusing on symptom relief and emotional well-being.